Paint Storage – Finally Happy

I’ve been messing with how best to store my paints where I can access them easily for a while. I have a large table with plenty of depth, but I found that reaching further back for paints was a hassle. I was using pantry organizing risers like these:
110382410932289p

However, I found that they were a bit unwieldy and didn’t have a top shelf backing, so paints would fall off…Also, I had to cut small blocks of foam as risers for the deep shelves to stack the paints two deep. They worked, but weren’t idea.

I then looked at the woodcut lines out there. So many nice products for storing paints, but none did what I wanted them to (I’m sure someone can show me otherwise, but I didn’t find what fit my need), which was mainly allow the varying sizes of hobby paint bottle in each slot. I use P3, Vallejo, GW, and Army Painter – plus a few random off brands. None seemed to be all things for me. The quest continued.

Finally I saw someone using nail polish racks in an image or two. Was amazed by the simplicity of the idea! Did a bit of research of the depth of the shelves I wanted and went to town. Bought a couple from Container Store that were lower as a starting point, then bought a taller rack from Amazon. I’ve since swapped out two of the smaller racks for two tall racks and the results are below. I did a couple fast pictures to show how things stand, please forgive the clutter. 🙂 The two shorter racks now hold my black/gray and metallics in one and the technicals and washes in the other.
4884271767994528577-account_id=1The tall racks hold everything else. All my moving things around has me needing to resort the colors and pull duplicates out for now.
4815979360129105439-account_id=1

Leave a Reply

